TheRPGSite

The Lounge => Media and Inspiration => Topic started by: CarlD. on December 14, 2018, 09:30:52 AM

Title: The recent female Dr. Who: do you have an opinion?
Post by: CarlD. on December 14, 2018, 09:30:52 AM
It caused quite a stir in the fandom and outside it when it was announced the latest incarnation of Dr. Who would be as a woman. Both sides had some valid points and observations, IMO. So did the results live up or down to expectations and fears? Has its been entertaining, much ado about nothing or something else?
Title: The recent female Dr. Who: do you have an opinion?
Post by: Ratman_tf on December 14, 2018, 12:09:55 PM
Don't care. I only know about the female Doctor because my brother watches the show, and so I get a lot of second-hand exposure.
I actually haven't seen any of the new episodes. Have they been broadcast in America yet?
Title: The recent female Dr. Who: do you have an opinion?
Post by: CarlD. on December 15, 2018, 05:44:34 AM
As I understand those episodes are aired on BBC America, yeah.

But if you didn't care about the topic and don't watch the show, why take the time to post, might I ask?
Title: The recent female Dr. Who: do you have an opinion?
Post by: BedrockBrendan on December 15, 2018, 09:58:03 AM
I saw the season, but still have to watch the most recent two episodes (so I can't comment on those). I thought she made a great doctor. To me it felt like a return to form for the show in a lot ways. In terms of the political messaging, Doctor Who, especially Nu Who, has long been a progressive show with notable LBGT elements to it. I have to say though, most of the messaging to me this season, felt more in line with Russel T Davies era or Torchwood, than 2018-style politics. Obviously relevant political issues came up (there was a clear Donald Trump stand-in for example, and there were two episodes dealing with racism/ethnic conflict in history. But the episode I expected to have a predictable political message (the Witchfinders) really surprised me with its nuance. If anything that episode felt both anti-alt right and anti-SJW to me. I think Chibnall is being very careful in how he threads his message, but I don't believe it is as inline with 2018 politics as the BBC might be expecting him to provide (but then I don't really know the politics of the BBC that well, so I could be wrong here). I think it is more, classic Doctor Who style progressivism. But overall, my feeling was the stories were good, the political messaging was no more heavy handed than in the past, and generally worked well for the stories they were doing. My only major concern with political messages in shows is when they undermine the story. People should watch for themselves and decide though. That is just my take.
Title: The recent female Dr. Who: do you have an opinion?
Post by: Ratman_tf on December 15, 2018, 12:54:45 PM
Quote from: CarlD.;1068730
As I understand those episodes are aired on BBC America, yeah.

But if you didn't care about the topic and don't watch the show, why take the time to post, might I ask?

Ah, I didn't elaborate. My bad.
I don't care that the Dr. is a woman. Not that I don't care about the topic at all.
Title: The recent female Dr. Who: do you have an opinion?
Post by: CarlD. on December 15, 2018, 02:43:01 PM
Quote from: BedrockBrendan;1068762
I saw the season, but still have to watch the most recent two episodes (so I can't comment on those). I thought she made a great doctor. To me it felt like a return to form for the show in a lot ways. In terms of the political messaging, Doctor Who, especially Nu Who, has long been a progressive show with notable LBGT elements to it. I have to say though, most of the messaging to me this season, felt more in line with Russel T Davies era or Torchwood, than 2018-style politics. Obviously relevant political issues came up (there was a clear Donald Trump stand-in for example, and there were two episodes dealing with racism/ethnic conflict in history. But the episode I expected to have a predictable political message (the Witchfinders) really surprised me with its nuance. If anything that episode felt both anti-alt right and anti-SJW to me. I think Chibnall is being very careful in how he threads his message, but I don't believe it is as inline with 2018 politics as the BBC might be expecting him to provide (but then I don't really know the politics of the BBC that well, so I could be wrong here). I think it is more, classic Doctor Who style progressivism. But overall, my feeling was the stories were good, the political messaging was no more heavy handed than in the past, and generally worked well for the stories they were doing. My only major concern with political messages in shows is when they undermine the story. People should watch for themselves and decide though. That is just my take.

Thanks, I'll have to check out that episode (The Witchfinders?), sounds good. That's a tough line to walk. From what I'm hearing the Rule 64 isn't being pushed a big deal either for the audience or the character, just a natural part of being a Time Lord which makes allot of sense to me.

Quote from: Ratman_tf;1068775
Ah, I didn't elaborate. My bad.
I don't care that the Dr. is a woman. Not that I don't care about the topic at all.

Oh! My mistake, sorry about that.
Title: The recent female Dr. Who: do you have an opinion?
Post by: jeff37923 on December 15, 2018, 03:30:52 PM
Quote from: CarlD.;1068495
It caused quite a stir in the fandom and outside it when it was announced the latest incarnation of Dr. Who would be as a woman. Both sides had some valid points and observations, IMO. So did the results live up or down to expectations and fears? Has its been entertaining, much ado about nothing or something else?

I think that they should have asked Helen Mirren to play the role instead of their current forgettable choice.
Title: The recent female Dr. Who: do you have an opinion?
Post by: Omega on December 15, 2018, 04:21:25 PM
I like the actress they picked. But unfortunately shes been given some of the worst stories to act in. She has the potential, but like with Voyager, the scripts keep making her unlikable.
But I despise the SJW+Feminist Agenda permeating every episode so far. And this is not even just guessing there is an agenda. The showrunner has flat out stated that the new Dr Who would be all about this. And so far it has. Sometimes only a little. Some times near wall to wall. And now they have announced no Christmas Special this year. Instead it will be a New Years special because no one liked those Christmas Specials and its sooooo hard to write one.

As for the Doctor being a woman. If BBC and the showrunner werent being SJW idiots at the time this would have gone over alot better. I wish it had happened earlier.
Title: The recent female Dr. Who: do you have an opinion?
Post by: Snowman0147 on December 15, 2018, 04:44:21 PM
Clownfish TV is already showing that the new Doctor Who is losing its audience and it is becoming a massive flop.
Title: The recent female Dr. Who: do you have an opinion?
Post by: danskmacabre on December 16, 2018, 08:53:27 PM
I don't care that Dr Who is a woman.
In fact it was stated in a very early episode of the ORIGINAL Dr Who series that the Doctor could swap genders.

I don't particularly like that actress (Jodie Whittaker), she's not a very good actress and I don't like her style as an actress either.
She does not portray that quirky character that the Doctor should have very well.
I would have preferred Tilda Swinton for example who is a great actress, she looks unusual too and can play Quirky weird characters really well.
Tilda would have been an awesome Doctor.

An example of a great gender swap was swapping the Master for Missy.. She was an AWESOME Master (Don't know the actress' name).

The Dr Who series in general went downhill rapidly from about season 5 anyway.
Mainly as it had a lot of politics forced into it which I thought was poorly thought out, quite biased and just generally not entertaining.
A big shame though as I liked the actors Matt Smith and Peter Capaldi and there WERE the occasional decent episodes here and there.
Title: The recent female Dr. Who: do you have an opinion?
Post by: HappyDaze on December 17, 2018, 12:15:47 AM
I totally lost interest a few episodes into Matt Smith. I've heard nothing that makes me want to give it another look, but it's not because the Doctor is female; it's because I just started finding the stories very uninteresting, predictable, and repetitive.
Title: The recent female Dr. Who: do you have an opinion?
Post by: Stephen Tannhauser on February 05, 2019, 04:20:14 PM
I fell out of NuWho fandom even earlier; I never even made it through David Tennant's first season, and Christopher Eccleston's lone season I finished pretty much solely out of a sense of give-it-a-chance-to-find-its-feet obligatory patience.  This despite (or perhaps because of?) being an old-school Who fan from Jon Pertwee's days.

I think the thing that lost me was less the politics (though these days that would have aggravated me no end) as the simple feel of the show. From the very beginning of Russell Davies' run it was obvious they were trying for this febrile, fast-paced oh-so-modern style of storytelling -- fast cuts, exciting sudden zooms, everpresent music, over-the-top sets, constant witty banter -- that just didn't feel like the WHO I remembered and loved. Then came the slow realization that the showrunners had decided to go the BUFFY route of concentrating more on the inter-character dynamics than on the SF plots, which again made it feel more like a soap opera and less like an SF adventure show (especially given how many of those deep-focus character arcs wound up being almost melodramatically tragic). My final attempt to rejoin the show in Peter Capaldi's first season fell down after it became clear (with "Kill the Moon") that they weren't even trying to think of clever SF stories in their own right anymore; they were creating situations solely for the sake of trying to hit their characters with as many emotional "Wham!" moments as possible, and I'm one of those annoying sorts who just can't get emotionally moved by character troubles if I can't believe the plot they're in.

I thought very little of the obvious real-world politics behind casting a female actor in the role, but would have been willing to give it a shake if Chibnall, Whittaker et al hadn't immediately confirmed my worst fears about their motives. Nothing I've read about the episodes since suggests I've missed anything. Even the one Series 11 episode that came close to the "real spirit" of DOCTOR WHO, "Kerblam!", felt a little too heavy-handed and clumsy to really entertain.
Title: The recent female Dr. Who: do you have an opinion?
Post by: nour on February 15, 2019, 10:58:54 AM
Quote from: CarlD.;1068495
It caused quite a stir in the fandom and outside it when it was announced the latest incarnation of Dr. Who would be as a woman. Both sides had some valid points and observations, IMO. So did the results live up or down to expectations and fears? Has its been entertaining, much ado about nothing or something else Lucky Patcher (https://inro.in/lucky-patcher/) 9Apps (https://inro.in/9apps/) VidMate (https://inro.in/vidmate/)?

I'm against this policy, it's just attention seeking catastrophic idea.
M. Who is a man Ghostbusters are men, Superman is white.
Wonderwoman is a woman, Blakcwidow is a woman, Blade is a man of color.

If they wanted simply a female as main character they would create simply another story, like with Superman and Supergirl.
But NOOO, they want to ruin the thing that's all.
Title: The recent female Dr. Who: do you have an opinion?
Post by: Omega on March 17, 2019, 09:06:36 AM
Well I held out some small hope. But Chibnal and Whittaker pretty much quashed that. Whittaker I think could have been fine for the role had the been given better scripts to work with. But some of her media statements leave some doubt. Then later statements left alot of doubt. She did not go as over the top as Larson did for Captain Marvel. But its still self sabotage when you accuse the original series as "celebrating the male gaze". Obviously shes never actually watched the original.

Past that the stories were heavy on agendas. A few were brick to the head heavy on agendas.

And of course no Christmas episode.
Title: The recent female Dr. Who: do you have an opinion?
Post by: CarlD. on March 18, 2019, 08:41:59 AM
'male gaze'? In the original series? The Hell made her say that. What was said about Cpt Marvel. My good friend saw that recently and loved it. I was planning on seeing it this week, maybe see "Us" and make a day of it.
Title: The recent female Dr. Who: do you have an opinion?
Post by: Warboss Squee on March 18, 2019, 03:00:47 PM
I haven't watched the new Doctor, but my mother in law (massive Who fan) absolutely hated her.
Title: The recent female Dr. Who: do you have an opinion?
Post by: Snowman0147 on March 18, 2019, 08:54:09 PM
I thought Doctor Who was a alien dealing with the weird and the strange throughout all time.  When was the Doctor staring at women all day?
Title: The recent female Dr. Who: do you have an opinion?
Post by: Ratman_tf on March 19, 2019, 02:03:20 PM
Quote from: Warboss Squee;1079662
I haven't watched the new Doctor, but my mother in law (massive Who fan) absolutely hated her.

As the joke goes, having a woman Doctor ruins female fans fantasy of fucking him.
Title: The recent female Dr. Who: do you have an opinion?
Post by: Omega on March 20, 2019, 07:12:00 PM
Quote from: CarlD.;1079627
'male gaze'? In the original series? The Hell made her say that. What was said about Cpt Marvel. My good friend saw that recently and loved it. I was planning on seeing it this week, maybe see "Us" and make a day of it.

Brie Larson the actress playing Marvel has been openly pushing her "feminist agenda" and even deliverd some line at an interview that this movie was to be for her to exress her agenda. Then there is the whole "I dont want white male reporters" mess, the attacking anyone who speaks out as the usual "ist" sphiel. Theres some messaging in the movie to push "girl power" and some are not too thrilled that the movie removed Monica Rambeau's father as her inspiration and now its Danvers. And then there is the whole gender swapping the original Mar-Vell because apparently Larson wouldnt have a man giving her character empoerment or somesuch. The total blow up of Rotten Tomatoes heavily doctoring the ratings. Then there is Disney apparently buying tickets to inflate the numbers. The movie started off ok in the box office but then started to sink and may underperform even better/worse than Ghost in the Shell.

And on and on and on. It is as if they want the movie to fail.

And I still think some read too much early on into the trailers as negative, and that if Larson hadnt run off her mouth the reactions would not have been so negative. That and Marvel Comics themselves totally undermined the movie with just how badly they have handled the character in recent years with the whole "feminist Agenda" thing.

Is Captain Marvel worth seeing? Totally YMMV.
Title: The recent female Dr. Who: do you have an opinion?
Post by: Omega on March 20, 2019, 07:13:25 PM
Quote from: Snowman0147;1079697
I thought Doctor Who was a alien dealing with the weird and the strange throughout all time.  When was the Doctor staring at women all day?

He wasnt. But some SJWs screech about Leela incessantly anyhow.
Title: The recent female Dr. Who: do you have an opinion?
Post by: jhkim on March 20, 2019, 07:59:43 PM
Quote from: Omega;1080008
The movie started off ok in the box office but then started to sink and may underperform even better/worse than Ghost in the Shell.

And on and on and on. It is as if they want the movie to fail.

For reference, here's the numbers on those two films from Box Office Mojo:

Ghost in the Shell (BoxOfficeMojo (https://www.boxofficemojo.com/movies/?id=ghostintheshell2017.htm))
Budget: approx. $110M
Domestic: opening weekend $18M, $7M second weekend (-61% drop)
Foreign: opening weekend $39M
All-time Total (domestic + foreign): $170M
-------------------------------
Captain Marvel (BoxOfficeMojo (https://www.boxofficemojo.com/movies/?page=main&id=marvel2018a.htm))
Budget: approx. $152M
Domestic: opening weekend $153M, second weekend $68M (-55% drop, average for MCU movies)
Foreign: Opening weekend $303M, second weekend $216M (-29% drop)


Captain Marvel already has a total gross of $797M after being out two weeks. Of the 21 MCU movies, it's second weekend drop (domestic) is the 7th smallest. (ref (https://www.ign.com/articles/2019/03/17/the-marvel-cinematic-universes-biggest-second-weekend-box-office-drops))

If you have any different numbers, I'd be interested to hear.
Title: The recent female Dr. Who: do you have an opinion?
Post by: Warder on November 21, 2019, 03:09:49 PM
''As the joke goes, having a woman Doctor ruins female fans fantasy of fucking him. ''

As a male fan i can say i dont have any such fantasies about the current Doctor either. Im repulsed by that woman, as a character and a human beeing. The season started out oke, i didnt see the trainwreck coming at us. As it turns out it was agenda driven, men hating and full on propaganda. This is now the new Doctor Who. And we are getting another season of this crap show, full of the the same crap. Ah well, there are always Faction Paradox novels to explore. Now thats undiscovered niche ground.
Title: The recent female Dr. Who: do you have an opinion?
Post by: Omega on November 22, 2019, 12:33:36 AM
Quote from: jeff37923;1068794
I think that they should have asked Helen Mirren to play the role instead of their current forgettable choice.


Joanna Lumley was apparently optioned to play a female Doctor after Tom Baker. But that fell through. She did though very briefly appear as the Doctor in the Comic Relief skit Curse of the Fatal Death.
Title: The recent female Dr. Who: do you have an opinion?
Post by: Omega on November 22, 2019, 01:01:58 AM
I've tried to watch a few more episodes since one of my players went out and bought the whole DVD set. But god its just not fun sitting through this stuff. I still think shed be great as the Doctor if just given a real writer who is not hellbent on ramming agendas down your throat just about every single episode. And if it isnt that then she suffering from Janeway schizo Syndrome. Sometimes both. And some of the episode plots themselves just... ugh...

But I find myself just not really liking a-lot of the new series in total. There are some gems. But the overall feeling was... eh.

We'll see where this goes.
Title: The recent female Dr. Who: do you have an opinion?
Post by: Godfather Punk on February 25, 2020, 06:14:17 AM
At first I was curious to see how they would do a female Doctor. Capaldi already gave us Missy, the female Master, and some previous episodes had hinted a the possibility of a female regeneration.  So I saw nothing wrong with trying it this way.
For the record, I liked Eccleston, Tennant and Capaldi. Of course, as a child of the 70's, Tom Baker will always be my Doctor.

But then I disliked the first season with the new Doctor, mostly because I just don't buy Jodie Whittaker in the role.
I had the same problem with Matt Smith, but he kinda grew on me and I figured my dislike for his run had more to do with the companions (Rory & Amy).
The diversity of the new companions didn't bother me, as this is what my workplace looks like, and the city I live in, but their characters were a bit underused.

Quote
But I find myself just not really liking a-lot of the new series in total. There are some gems. But the overall feeling was... eh.
This was also my impression.

So I still decided to give the second season another try. (Edit: the New Years 'Special' wasn't really)
Boy, what a waste of time.  Jodie still doesn't convince me as a Time Lord (or as a competent actress) and the blatant political agenda hammering manages to break any interest I could have about the chaotic plots.
I'm gonna see how they finish this season (what's another 45 minutes?), but I probably won't bother with the next season(s) as long as the current show runners don't change.
Title: The recent female Dr. Who: do you have an opinion?
Post by: Darrin Kelley on February 25, 2020, 11:17:35 PM
I think they found their footing with the second season with this new Doctor. She seems much more in command of the part now. And I'm having fun with the show.

Bringing in classic Doctor Who bad guys really made a huge difference. Something they didn't do until the end of the first season.

Second season? All classic Doctor Who bad guys all of the time. And they have really made the Cybermen truly terrifying.
Title: The recent female Dr. Who: do you have an opinion?
Post by: GeekyBugle on March 03, 2020, 09:21:58 PM
As predicted they retconned all Dr Who lore to hell in order to make it so it was originally a black female.

Sad to see my predictions from when they made The Master female come true.

Dr Who died in the end of Series 10 (Capaldi's run). R.I.P.
Title: The recent female Dr. Who: do you have an opinion?
Post by: Omega on March 04, 2020, 08:54:39 AM
Well in anyone elses hands but Chibnell it could have been fun.

But right out the gate you know you are in for a long brutal war as they start ret-conning the whole history of the Doctor and the Time lords to make this into something fans are more likely to resent than embrace.

So lets get this straight? The first space traveller from Gallefry is a woman, of course. And she finds a kid near a portal to another dimension? And takes her home?
Said kid dies in an accident, and regenerates. Foster mom proceeds to kill and disect said kid over and over until she can give herself and all of Gallefry regeneration?
And she formed the government and apparently alot else. Oh and erased the kids memory of any of this.
Said kid with unlimited regenerations is the very first (minus a few hundred regenerations on the chopping block) Doctor. This new Doctor?

Did I get all that right? Please tell me no because that makes crackhead all sense.
Though to be fair during the Tenanent era they were hinting the Doctor was not really a Time Lord and might be some sort of time god. So who knows. Maybee this is the lesser of two evils? :eek:

I like the actress. I liked Whittacer too. I just hated the stories she was in and the Janeway Sindrom the character seems to suffer. Sadly suspect this new Doctor will not fare any better.

Worse. anyone speaking out will be declared racist.
Title: The recent female Dr. Who: do you have an opinion?
Post by: HappyDaze on March 04, 2020, 09:30:32 AM
Quote from: Omega;1123413
I just hated the stories she was in and the Janeway Sindrom the character seems to suffer.

What does this mean?
Title: The recent female Dr. Who: do you have an opinion?
Post by: BoxCrayonTales on March 04, 2020, 09:58:35 AM
Quote from: GeekyBugle;1123395
As predicted they retconned all Dr Who lore to hell in order to make it so it was originally a black female.

Sad to see my predictions from when they made The Master female come true.

Dr Who died in the end of Series 10 (Capaldi's run). R.I.P.

Well, the first time we see Doctor Who s/he's a little black girl. We have no idea what s/he was before then.

How much would you bet that, when his/her original species is inevitably introduced, his/her origin will be retconned yet again? I'm guessing that Who will be revealed to be the true queen or chosen one or whatever of the species or something, IDK.

This also makes no sense in its own continuity so far (not that this is saying much, since the show barely has continuity to begin with), since River Song is clear evidence that conceiving in a time machine is what gives you regeneration and the 12 limit is part of that. We also see that Doctor Who was subject to the 12 limit and had to be given extra lives.

Quote from: Omega;1123413
Well in anyone elses hands but Chibnell it could have been fun.

But right out the gate you know you are in for a long brutal war as they start ret-conning the whole history of the Doctor and the Time lords to make this into something fans are more likely to resent than embrace.

So lets get this straight? The first space traveller from Gallefry is a woman, of course. And she finds a kid near a portal to another dimension? And takes her home?
Said kid dies in an accident, and regenerates. Foster mom proceeds to kill and disect said kid over and over until she can give herself and all of Gallefry regeneration?
And she formed the government and apparently alot else. Oh and erased the kids memory of any of this.
Said kid with unlimited regenerations is the very first (minus a few hundred regenerations on the chopping block) Doctor. This new Doctor?

Did I get all that right? Please tell me no because that makes crackhead all sense.
Though to be fair during the Tenanent era they were hinting the Doctor was not really a Time Lord and might be some sort of time god. So who knows. Maybee this is the lesser of two evils? :eek:

I like the actress. I liked Whittacer too. I just hated the stories she was in and the Janeway Sindrom the character seems to suffer. Sadly suspect this new Doctor will not fare any better.

Worse. anyone speaking out will be declared racist.


I find it pretty funny how the vicious psychopath who tortured child Doctor Who and founded Time Lord civilization was a woman. You'd think the libs would use Rassilon and depict him as an evil toxic man (which wouldn't even be character assassination since he's already psychotic, especially if you read the Faction Paradox lore where the Time Lords regenerated themselves into Lovecraftian monsters during the Time War), but no! They depict the torturer as this nice woman who certainly never did anything wrong, certainly not child abuse even though we see her put a child through hell on earth.

Quote from: HappyDaze;1123415
What does this mean?

It means the writers unintentionally depict the hero as a villain most of the time.
Title: The recent female Dr. Who: do you have an opinion?
Post by: GeekyBugle on March 04, 2020, 11:48:55 AM
Quote from: Omega;1123413
Well in anyone elses hands but Chibnell it could have been fun.

But right out the gate you know you are in for a long brutal war as they start ret-conning the whole history of the Doctor and the Time lords to make this into something fans are more likely to resent than embrace.

So lets get this straight? The first space traveller from Gallefry is a woman, of course. And she finds a kid near a portal to another dimension? And takes her home?
Said kid dies in an accident, and regenerates. Foster mom proceeds to kill and disect said kid over and over until she can give herself and all of Gallefry regeneration?
And she formed the government and apparently alot else. Oh and erased the kids memory of any of this.
Said kid with unlimited regenerations is the very first (minus a few hundred regenerations on the chopping block) Doctor. This new Doctor?

Did I get all that right? Please tell me no because that makes crackhead all sense.
Though to be fair during the Tenanent era they were hinting the Doctor was not really a Time Lord and might be some sort of time god. So who knows. Maybee this is the lesser of two evils? :eek:

I like the actress. I liked Whittacer too. I just hated the stories she was in and the Janeway Sindrom the character seems to suffer. Sadly suspect this new Doctor will not fare any better.

Worse. anyone speaking out will be declared racist.

Yep, got it at the first attempt.
Title: The recent female Dr. Who: do you have an opinion?
Post by: Omega on March 05, 2020, 06:57:48 AM
Quote from: HappyDaze;1123415
What does this mean?


When the character acts in contrary ways from one episode to the next. Sometimes in a single episode. Janeway from Voyager was notorious for this. Even the actress commented on it. Not to mention the holier than thou attitude Janeway had quite often. But that is nothing new for Dr Who so doesnt count.

But watching some of the Whittacer Who and you see these flip-flop attitudes in the course of a single episode.
Title: The recent female Dr. Who: do you have an opinion?
Post by: Altheus on June 25, 2020, 12:33:47 PM
Quote from: GeekyBugle;1123395
As predicted they retconned all Dr Who lore to hell in order to make it so it was originally a black female.

Sad to see my predictions from when they made The Master female come true.

Dr Who died in the end of Series 10 (Capaldi's run). R.I.P.


I don't object to the Doctor being a woman, I object to Jodie Whittaker playing the role because she doesn't command the space that she is in, she fades in to the background. Jo Martin (the Ruth Doctor) would have been better for the role.

Also, the scripts were rubbish for her seasons so far.
Title: The recent female Dr. Who: do you have an opinion?
Post by: Godfather Punk on June 25, 2020, 04:26:36 PM
This weekend BBC Entertainment has started Whittaker's first season again, and because I'm a sucker for punishment I rewatched the first episode.

It was not that bad, with the unfolding plot, but the companions were pretty mediocre and indeed Jodie never really felt like The Doctor.  I guess when at the time I first saw this episode I still gave her some benefit of the doubt to get in the role (+ the usual regeneration weirdness) but having seen the two series I have to say she never got better. Au contraire. I liked Yasmin best; Ryan and Graham were a waste of oxygen.

I did like the scene where she wielded a sledge hammer to build a new sonic. Very "Tony Stark built this in a cave! With a box of scraps!"
Title: The recent female Dr. Who: do you have an opinion?
Post by: Omega on June 27, 2020, 08:35:09 AM
Chunks of nearly every episode feel more tlike they were written for some cartoon rather than a live action show. Some of the prior series did as well. But this last drifts there and doesn't seem to want to leave.

I still think with a competent writer Whittaker would have been fine. But shes like some of the worst of Tenanent.
Title: The recent female Dr. Who: do you have an opinion?
Post by: Tom Kalbfus on July 07, 2020, 05:25:27 PM
So is the female version of the doctor more combative than all the prior male versions to prove she is a man? I hope they got an actual woman to play the female doctor instead of a man dressed as a woman to please the trans community.
Title: The recent female Dr. Who: do you have an opinion?
Post by: Omega on July 07, 2020, 10:51:20 PM
Quote from: Tom Kalbfus;1138360
So is the female version of the doctor more combative than all the prior male versions to prove she is a man? I hope they got an actual woman to play the female doctor instead of a man dressed as a woman to please the trans community.

She's very... wacky... half the time and then viciously preachy and then who knows what. Imagine Janeway from Voyager, but her personality is more goofy till she flips and starts lecturing someone how awful they are.
Title: The recent female Dr. Who: do you have an opinion?
Post by: jeff37923 on July 12, 2020, 08:09:42 PM
Helen Mirren would have made a better female Doctor Who.
Title: The recent female Dr. Who: do you have an opinion?
Post by: GeekyBugle on July 14, 2020, 02:32:52 PM
Quote from: jeff37923;1139392
Helen Mirren would have made a better female Doctor Who.


The really Inclusive option was to use Georgia Moffett as Jenny ("The Doctor's Daughter") and create a spinoff series starring her.

Provided it was well written and not the stuff the writers room under Chris "wahmenRespekter" Chibnall has been shitting out, not a single Whovian would have complained.

Of course, as soon as they made the Master to regenerate into a woman and made her to start to become not evil anybody not willfully blind could see the writing in the wall.
Title: The recent female Dr. Who: do you have an opinion?
Post by: Ghostmaker on July 21, 2020, 03:56:51 PM
At that point they'd have been better off casting Keanu Reeves as the Doctor.
Title: The recent female Dr. Who: do you have an opinion?
Post by: Omega on July 26, 2020, 06:57:58 AM
Quote from: Ghostmaker;1141058
At that point they'd have been better off casting Keanu Reeves as the Doctor.

I still like Peter Cushings Doctor Who. :cool:
Title: The recent female Dr. Who: do you have an opinion?
Post by: Koltar on July 27, 2020, 08:02:40 PM
Quote from: Omega;1141780
I still like Peter Cushings Doctor Who. :cool:

He is NOT in the continuity or 'canon' - tho the last episode this last season may have screwed that up too...

-Ed C.
Title: The recent female Dr. Who: do you have an opinion?
Post by: Omega on July 28, 2020, 02:24:06 AM
Quote from: Koltar;1142034
He is NOT in the continuity or 'canon' - tho the last episode this last season may have screwed that up too...

-Ed C.

Cribbins may prove otherwise. heh-heh.