This is a site for discussing roleplaying games. Have fun doing so, but there is one major rule: do not discuss political issues that aren't directly and uniquely related to the subject of the thread and about gaming. While this site is dedicated to free speech, the following will not be tolerated: devolving a thread into unrelated political discussion, sockpuppeting (using multiple and/or bogus accounts), disrupting topics without contributing to them, and posting images that could get someone fired in the workplace (an external link is OK, but clearly mark it as Not Safe For Work, or NSFW). If you receive a warning, please take it seriously and either move on to another topic or steer the discussion back to its original RPG-related theme.
The message boards have been upgraded. Please log in to your existing account by clicking here. It will ask twice, so that it can properly update your password and login information. If it has trouble recognizing your password, click the 'Forgot your password?' link to reset it with a new password sent to your email address on file.

Author Topic: Removing the Logrus from a Lord of Chaos  (Read 73 times)

Jarrod Stanek

  • Newbie
  • *
  • J
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Removing the Logrus from a Lord of Chaos
« on: November 18, 2020, 11:55:51 am »
Has anyone ever had a Lord of Chaos lose their Logrus Mastery? I'm talking about an NPC of course - I'd never do that to a PC without their permission. I had a cool idea for a story where an NPC ally loses the Logrus but it is later replaced with Ygg powers which work similarly. I was thinking the Chaos Lord on question gets banished and has his Logrus removed by a magic ceremony. I'm sure the Logrus itself could deny any Chaos Lord it felt like.

So I'm just wondering if anyone else has had this happen in their campaign or had other any ideas of how this could happen.

zircher

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • z
  • Posts: 80
    • View Profile
    • Tangent Zero
Re: Removing the Logrus from a Lord of Chaos
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2020, 12:23:25 pm »
Hmm, since the Logrus is a major power, I don't know if magic itself would do the job.  Perhaps if the magic was a geas that punished/tortured the user for trying to access the Logrus.  Would such a spell fail to work in a hi-tech shadow?  Perhaps the ritual is actually a contract with the Logrus to deny access.  I'm actually trying to imagine a 'crime' dire enough that the Logrus would even care.  I thing it would have to something that would threaten the survival/domain of all Chaos.  But for that, death or chucking the offender into the Abyss seems to be the traditional means of punishment.
You can find my solo Tarot based rules for Amber on my home page.
http://www.tangent-zero.com