TheRPGSite

Pen & Paper Roleplaying Central => Pen and Paper Roleplaying Games (RPGs) Discussion => Topic started by: RPGPundit on January 05, 2021, 10:44:35 PM

Title: RPGPundit Reviews Batshit Old RPG
Post by: RPGPundit on January 05, 2021, 10:44:35 PM
"Man, Myth & Magic" is not what it advertises, but it's just too ridiculously crazy to even hate. Check out just how nuts it is in my hilarious review.


Title: Re: RPGPundit Reviews Batshit Old RPG
Post by: Simon W on January 06, 2021, 05:27:19 AM
I bought it read it and was so disgusted at how shit it was I threw it away. I kept the tiny dice but lost them soon after.
Title: Re: RPGPundit Reviews Batshit Old RPG
Post by: spon on January 06, 2021, 06:00:48 AM
I enjoyed that! It almost makes me want to go out and get a copy. Almost. :-)
Title: Re: RPGPundit Reviews Batshit Old RPG
Post by: Simon W on January 06, 2021, 08:15:45 AM
Don't do it. It is truly awful.
Title: Re: RPGPundit Reviews Batshit Old RPG
Post by: HappyDaze on January 06, 2021, 08:56:02 AM
That "review" was pretty awful. It would have been better with less time spent comparing it to Lion & Dragon. Did MMM even try to claim it was historically accurate/medieval authentic? Overall, this felt less like a review of MMM and more like a way to hype up Lion & Dragon while throwing shade on a 40 y/o product (not that MMM sounds like it deserves much better).
Title: Re: RPGPundit Reviews Batshit Old RPG
Post by: Altheus on January 06, 2021, 11:16:17 AM
When I saw the title I thought there was a game called "Batshit Old RPG" and was curious what the OSR had come up with.

:'(
Title: Re: RPGPundit Reviews Batshit Old RPG
Post by: Warder on January 06, 2021, 02:25:52 PM
I see Batshit Review, im in.
Title: Re: RPGPundit Reviews Batshit Old RPG
Post by: Thornhammer on January 06, 2021, 04:59:50 PM
James Herbert Brennan...

Dammit, I know that name.

Isn’t he the guy who did the GrailQuest books?
Title: Re: RPGPundit Reviews Batshit Old RPG
Post by: Stephen Tannhauser on January 06, 2021, 05:27:25 PM
James Herbert Brennan... Isn’t he the guy who did the GrailQuest books?

That is, indeed, the fellow. He also wrote a more adult series of CYOA-style gamebooks called Fire*Wolf, which were actually not bad at all -- at least the first one that I read was quite good.
Title: Re: RPGPundit Reviews Batshit Old RPG
Post by: Thornhammer on January 06, 2021, 06:19:18 PM
That is, indeed, the fellow. He also wrote a more adult series of CYOA-style gamebooks called Fire*Wolf, which were actually not bad at all -- at least the first one that I read was quite good.

Awesome! I have super fond memories of the GrailQuest books. I see one can get an eeee-lectronic version of the entire Fire*Wolf saga for about five bucks, I think I might check that out.





Title: Re: RPGPundit Reviews Batshit Old RPG
Post by: Stephen Tannhauser on January 06, 2021, 06:21:27 PM
I see one can get an eeee-lectronic version of the entire Fire*Wolf saga for about five bucks, I think I might check that out.

Ooohh, where's that? Amazon or DriveThruRPG?
Title: Re: RPGPundit Reviews Batshit Old RPG
Post by: Spinachcat on January 06, 2021, 10:12:03 PM
I played Man, Myth & Magic back in the day!!

Our GM loved it, and it didn't make shit for sense EXCEPT it was actually kinda cool because it was this "fantasy historical" where we FINALLY got some value out of our high school history books.

But like with all history-based RPGs I've played, the campaign didn't last long and depended entirely on having a GM and players who really enjoy history as much as they enjoy RPGs, but even then, too many sessions broke down into history knowledge dick waving...and soon we wandered back over to AD&D or something else without a shred of history.
Title: Re: RPGPundit Reviews Batshit Old RPG
Post by: Thornhammer on January 06, 2021, 10:58:45 PM
Ooohh, where's that? Amazon or DriveThruRPG?

By a company called Tin Man Games, website is gamebookadventures.com. Not a PDF or anything like that, they have turned it into a full-on game.

I make no claim to the quality of said application, but a fiver isn’t gonna be much of a loss.
Title: Re: RPGPundit Reviews Batshit Old RPG
Post by: RPGPundit on January 06, 2021, 11:18:27 PM
That "review" was pretty awful. It would have been better with less time spent comparing it to Lion & Dragon. Did MMM even try to claim it was historically accurate/medieval authentic? Overall, this felt less like a review of MMM and more like a way to hype up Lion & Dragon while throwing shade on a 40 y/o product (not that MMM sounds like it deserves much better).

Yes, MMM made a big deal out of claiming it was a "historical" RPG.
Title: Re: RPGPundit Reviews Batshit Old RPG
Post by: Spinachcat on January 06, 2021, 11:22:00 PM
Yes, MMM made a big deal out of claiming it was a "historical" RPG.

That was it's entire marketing pitch.

You could make a party with an Egyptian princess, a Roman legionnaire and a Jewish rabbi and plunder dungeons underneath the Gardens of Babylon.

Title: Re: RPGPundit Reviews Batshit Old RPG
Post by: David Johansen on January 06, 2021, 11:39:30 PM
I remember the ads inside comic covers.  The game sounded stupid but I always wanted the parchment maps.  Of course I'm the guy who printed out his pdfs of Arms Law and Spell Law on parchment and four page character sheets and everything.  Must be a fetish.
Title: Re: RPGPundit Reviews Batshit Old RPG
Post by: RPGPundit on January 08, 2021, 04:32:16 AM
Yes, MMM made a big deal out of claiming it was a "historical" RPG.

That was it's entire marketing pitch.

You could make a party with an Egyptian princess, a Roman legionnaire and a Jewish rabbi and plunder dungeons underneath the Gardens of Babylon.

You forgot the leprechauns.