This is a site for discussing roleplaying games. Have fun doing so, but there is one major rule: do not discuss political issues that aren't directly and uniquely related to the subject of the thread and about gaming. While this site is dedicated to free speech, the following will not be tolerated: devolving a thread into unrelated political discussion, sockpuppeting (using multiple and/or bogus accounts), disrupting topics without contributing to them, and posting images that could get someone fired in the workplace (an external link is OK, but clearly mark it as Not Safe For Work, or NSFW). If you receive a warning, please take it seriously and either move on to another topic or steer the discussion back to its original RPG-related theme.
The message boards have been upgraded. Please log in to your existing account by clicking here. It will ask twice, so that it can properly update your password and login information. If it has trouble recognizing your password, click the 'Forgot your password?' link to reset it with a new password sent to your email address on file.

Author Topic: Other New Stuff From WotC  (Read 858 times)

Knightcrawler

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • K
  • Posts: 504
    • View Profile
Other New Stuff From WotC
« on: March 08, 2006, 04:03:31 PM »
Just ran across other new stuff from WotC at Amazon

Cityscape - I'm assuming this is going to be a city building book or you could almost consider it a terrain book in the vein of Sandstorm and Frostburn.

Complete Mage - Okay we already have Complete Arcane so I'm not really sure what will be in this one.

Dragon Magic - So I'm assuming this is stuff dealing with dragons and magic that wasn't in the Dragonomicon and Races of the Dragon.

Dragons of Faerun - Covering the various dragon types specific to Forgotten Realms I'm assuming.  Perhaps with stuff on specific dragons.

And we already know about stuff like Players Handbook II, Monster Manual IV, and Complete Psionics.
Knightcrawler

"I Am Become Death, Destroyer Of Worlds"

Aelfinn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • A
  • Posts: 193
    • View Profile
Other New Stuff From WotC
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2006, 05:01:47 PM »
Cityscape could be very interesting - Mearls is on staff over there now, and he wrote Cityworks, so he's got a pretty solid handle on how to deal with that kind of a sourcebook.

Dragon Magic may be some kind of update to draconomicon material, because IIRC draconomicon is 3rd edition straight.

Complete Mage? no idea why we're feeling the need to further expand this, unless we're doing incarnum and tome of magic tie-in complete books now.
Bedd Ann ap lleian ymnewais fynydd  
Iluagor Llew Ymrais
Prif ddewin merddin Embrai
[/SIZE][/I]

Krishnath

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • K
  • Posts: 135
    • View Profile
Other New Stuff From WotC
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2006, 05:55:51 AM »
Quote from: Aelfinn
Cityscape could be very interesting - Mearls is on staff over there now, and he wrote Cityworks, so he's got a pretty solid handle on how to deal with that kind of a sourcebook.

Dragon Magic may be some kind of update to draconomicon material, because IIRC draconomicon is 3rd edition straight.

Complete Mage? no idea why we're feeling the need to further expand this, unless we're doing incarnum and tome of magic tie-in complete books now.

Draconomicon is 3.5, thank you very much. :mad: :p

I am getting at least one of those books, Dragon Magic, and I might get Dragons of Faerûn™ as well, particularly if it has updates on the Brown, Deep, and Song dragons.
We have been hurt.
We are bleeding.
We will survive.
We will evolve.
We will become stronger.
We will become more than the sum of our parts.
We are The Damnation army.
We are Legion.

el-remmen

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • e
  • Posts: 264
    • View Profile
    • http://www.aquerra.com/rbdmc/index.php
Other New Stuff From WotC
« Reply #3 on: March 09, 2006, 10:01:39 AM »
Hmm, the city book is by Mearls?  I may actually buy my first D&D book in years :)
Check out the "Out of the Frying Pan" D&D Aquerra Story Hour (Now with Session by Session DM Commentary!)

"Just because you're buff, don't play tough, 'cause I'll reverse the Earth and turn your flesh back to dust. . ."

Ragnarok N Roll

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • R
  • Posts: 109
    • View Profile
Other New Stuff From WotC
« Reply #4 on: March 09, 2006, 10:28:34 AM »
As long as Kestrel and a couple others names aren't on them I'm good to go. :cool:

Cityscape is going to take number one of my must have list.
"God is dead" - Nietzsche

"Nietzsche is dead" - God.

Aelfinn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • A
  • Posts: 193
    • View Profile
Other New Stuff From WotC
« Reply #5 on: March 09, 2006, 10:45:25 AM »
Hmm. cityscape is listed on amazon as having Ari Marmell and C.A. Suleiman for writers. at this point though, its so far out that i'm not sure I trust amazon's listing, and even if it's written by them, I'm wondering about the editorial process.

:shrugh: we shall see, eventually, how it is.
Bedd Ann ap lleian ymnewais fynydd  
Iluagor Llew Ymrais
Prif ddewin merddin Embrai
[/SIZE][/I]

Aelfinn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • A
  • Posts: 193
    • View Profile
Other New Stuff From WotC
« Reply #6 on: March 09, 2006, 10:51:56 AM »
Quote from: Krishnath
Draconomicon is 3.5, thank you very much. :mad: :p


well, you're right, my bad. I just didn't have access to my books when I wrote that.
Bedd Ann ap lleian ymnewais fynydd  
Iluagor Llew Ymrais
Prif ddewin merddin Embrai
[/SIZE][/I]

Sojourner Judas

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • S
  • Posts: 258
    • View Profile
Other New Stuff From WotC
« Reply #7 on: March 09, 2006, 10:55:19 AM »
Quote from: Krishnath
I am getting at least one of those books, Dragon Magic, and I might get Dragons of Faerûn™ as well, particularly if it has updates on the Brown, Deep, and Song dragons.
Well, this is the Year of making Krishnath spooge uncontrollably the Dragon at WotC...
 

Ragnarok N Roll

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • R
  • Posts: 109
    • View Profile
Other New Stuff From WotC
« Reply #8 on: March 09, 2006, 11:17:34 AM »
Quote from: Aelfinn
Hmm. cityscape is listed on amazon as having Ari Marmell and C.A. Suleiman for writers. at this point though, its so far out that i'm not sure I trust amazon's listing, and even if it's written by them, I'm wondering about the editorial process.

:shrugh: we shall see, eventually, how it is.


I know for sure Ari is on there. He was bragging about it on that other forum.
"God is dead" - Nietzsche

"Nietzsche is dead" - God.

BOZ

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • B
  • Posts: 452
    • View Profile
    • http://www.enworld.org/cc/
Other New Stuff From WotC
« Reply #9 on: March 09, 2006, 11:59:25 AM »
these other books don't catch my eye so much.  still, i'll check them out all the same.
don't quote me on that.  :)

Visit the Creature Catalog for all your D&D 3E monster needs!  :)

Krishnath

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • K
  • Posts: 135
    • View Profile
Other New Stuff From WotC
« Reply #10 on: March 09, 2006, 05:18:31 PM »
Quote from: Ragnarok N Roll
As long as Kestrel and a couple others names aren't on them I'm good to go. :cool:


I thought that Races of the Dragon was pretty good. But you can't please everyone, I guess. :)
We have been hurt.
We are bleeding.
We will survive.
We will evolve.
We will become stronger.
We will become more than the sum of our parts.
We are The Damnation army.
We are Legion.